since June, 20th 2019

Samplerman !

Samplerman

Yvan Guillo, alias Samplerman, received the 2019 EESI prize (European Superior Picture School of Angoulême). This year, the Fondation d’entreprise Martell sponsors this award and offers the winning artist to create a huge installation for its edifice in Cognac. All over the windows of the monumental stairs, Samplerman achieved five bespoke illustrations, the biggest being 4-meter-high and 2-meter-large. In the end, the windows were turned into colored and surprising stained glasses. From inside, these drawings display various motifs the artist uses in his numerical collages, borrowed from the late twentieth century comics. From outside, as night falls, the illustrations transform into backlit beacon – to the passerby, they show the way up to the panoramic bar, on the Foundation’s 24-meter-high rooftop.

Samplerman is one of the numerous pseudonym Yvan Guillo chose to sign his comics. Born in 1971, he studied applied arts and didn’t wait to publish his comics: he created his own fanzine – Crachoir, which randomly appears since 1992. He also used another pseudonym, Yvang, to publish comics in small magazines such as Strong (FR), L’Horreur est Humaine (FR), Gorgonzola (FR), Que Suerte (ES). He diversifies technics and styles, he gives advantage to experiment and tries his hand at strip in local press or at blog publication since 2005.

Since 2013, his “Samplerman” collages, first seen of Tumblr, seem to draw the public’s attention so that this parallel activity becomes, step by step, his main artistic occupation. These digitally designed pages bring him orders for covers, posters, record sleeves and video animation.

depuis le 20 juin 2019

Samplerman !

Samplerman

Yvan Guillo, alias Samplerman, est lauréat du prix 2019 de l’EESI, École Européenne Supérieure de l’Image d’Angoulême. Cette année, ce prix est parrainé par la Fondation d’entreprise Martell, qui a proposé à l’artiste de créer une installation vertigineuse pour le bâtiment à Cognac. Sur toutes les fenêtres de l’escalier monumental, Samplerman a réalisé cinq illustrations sur-mesure, allant jusqu’à 4 mètres de haut et 2 mètres de large. Le résultat : une série de vitraux colorés et inattendus. Depuis l’intérieur, ces illustrations donnent à voir le répertoire de motifs qu’utilise l’artiste dans ses collages numériques, issus des comics de la deuxième moitié du XXème siècle. Depuis l’extérieur, quand la nuit tombe, les illustrations se transforment en signaux rétroéclairés qui invitent les passants à monter jusqu’au bar panoramique, sur le toit-terrasse de la Fondation, à 24 mètres de haut.

Samplerman est l’un des pseudonymes de l’auteur de bandes dessinées Yvan Guillo, né en 1971. Après des études d’arts appliqués, il a immédiatement autopublié ses bandes dessinées dans son propre fanzine Crachoir qui paraît aléatoirement depuis 1992. Il a publié également sous le pseudonyme Yvang dans de nombreuses revues à petit tirage comme Stronx (FR), L’Horreur est Humaine (FR), Gorgonzola (FR), Que Suerte (ES). Variant les techniques et les styles, privilégiant l’expérimentation, il s’essaie aussi au strip dans la presse locale, ou à la publication sous forme de blog à partir de 2005.
Depuis 2013 ses collages labellisés « Samplerman », tout d’abord présentés sur la plateforme Tumblr semblent attirer l’attention du public. Ce projet parallèle devient peu à peu son activité artistique principale. Ces pages réalisées numériquement lui valent des commandes de couvertures, d’affiches, de pochettes de disques, d’animations vidéo.